Sir Peter Vela Wins Owners’ Premiership

Pencarrow Stud and New Zealand Bloodstock principal Sir Peter Vela was awarded the Owners’ Premiership at the 2018-19 New Zealand Thoroughbred Horse of the Year Awards at Ellerslie Racecourse on Sunday.

Sir Peter's horses won 42 races in New Zealand during the 2018-19 season.

His star performer was Supera (NZ) (Savabeel), who won four races during the season including the Group 2 Travis Stakes (2000m) and Group 2 Tui Anniversary (1600m). She also placed in the Group 1 Fiber Fresh New Zealand Thoroughbred Breeders’ Stakes (1600m) and the Group 2 Cal Isuzu Stakes (1600m).

Sleeping Beauty (NZ) (Rip Van Winkle) was another repeat black-type performer, winning the Group 3 ISCL Rotorua Stakes (1400m) and Listed Ultimate Ford and Mazda Tauranga Classic (1400m) after placing in the Group 2 Dunstan Feeds Auckland Thoroughbred Breeders’ Stakes (1400m) and Westbury Classic (1400m).

Sir Peter also enjoyed black-type success as part-owner of the Karaka Million 3YO Classic (1600m) winner Long Leaf (Fastnet Rock) and the Listed Royston Hospital Hawke’s Bay Cup (2200m) winner Felaar (NZ) (Ekraar).

Across the Tasman, Eminent (Frankel) finished second in the Group 1 Ranvet Stakes (2000m) in Sydney.