Heyerdahl Clears Maiden by Six

Pencarrow bred and owned Heyerdahl (Pins – Tamarino, by Caerleon) could not have been more impressive in clearing her maiden status at Hawkes Bay today.

The three year old filly started a $3 favourite in the 1400m More FM maiden (apprentice jockeys only), her sixth start since beginning her racing career at the very same track on New Year’s Day 2009.
New Zealand’s current leading jockey, and apprentice, James McDonald controlled Heyerdahl from barrier one to sit parked on the fence just in behind a strong pace.

Rounding the final bend it was clear that Heyerdahl was travelling best of the field, and that McDonald just needed to find an out in the straight. The professional youngster and the bonny bay filly pushed open their own gap around the turn, and from then it was just a question of “by how much?”

The official margin was five and a half lengths but that could have been greater as the filly was eased down in the final fifty metres, her winning time was 1.22.56 with second place being filled by Calla Queen (Howbaddouwantit).

Heyerdahl, named after the Norwegian explorer who led the Kon Tiki expedition (1947) on a raft across the Pacific Ocean from Peru to Tuamotu, gave her sire Pins his 47th winner in New Zealand for the season. This leaves him a clear second place in front of Faltaat (33) in terms of number of winners sired, and just five winners off this season’s leading NZ sire Volksraad who has sired 53 individual winners.

Heyerdahl is the sixth foal of Tamarino and her win today gives the 14-year-old Caerleon mare the terrific feat of leaving six foals of racing age, with six raced for six winners, her best being multiple Listed placed and Group 1 SA Oaks fourth Danalaga (Danehill), a winner of three.

Tamarino’s next foal, a yearling colt by Elvstroem, was sold to Lakeview Resources (Victoria) at Karaka Premier 2009 for$140,000 from the Pencarrow Stud draft. She currently has a filly foal at foot by Darci Brahma and she is due to foal to the Group 1 winner again this year on September 16.